The First Few Days

Parker is officially to his first weekend!

We made it home from the hospital Thursday afternoon, and have just been enjoying our little boy ever since. He has been such an excellent baby. Besides feedings, he doesn’t wake up at night, he’s minimally fussy during the day, and really likes to just spend time in the living room with us, either in our arms, chests, or on the floor in his little play gym.

Obviously we’re very early into our experience with him, but I don’t think we could’ve asked for a better baby.

One thing I’ve really learned during these few days is how much my parents really do love me. My mom used to always tell me that I would never really know until I had one of my own. Last night, I was rocking Parker in his room before laying him down for bed and couldn’t help but think about being his father. There is literally nothing I wouldn’t do for that child.

As parents, I think we’re  doing very well. Again, it’s very early in a lifetime of parenting, but we’ve really remained low stress about everything. And really, it’s been a lot of fun. We took him on a walk in his stroller last night and tomorrow we’re taking him to his very first Mass at church. Monday is his first pediatrician appointment and then following that, we’re going to visit my family in West Virginia and Ironton for a couple days.

Other than that, I’m just trying to enjoy my paternity leave to the very fullest. And, finally, being a millennial dad.

I obviously plan to continue writing this blog as much as I can. So stayed tuned, because it’s only the beginning.

Leave a Reply

