So about that busyness…

I may have mentioned that Saturday was a busy day for me, well a combination of Sunday and Monday were much, much busier than that.

On Sunday morning, we decided to go to the Columbus Zoo, we had been wanting to buy a membership for some time now, but just couldn’t find a good weekend to finally go. Well Sunday was that day. We went ahead and purchased the membership which gets us into the zoo for the entire year and pays for our parking…totally, 100% worth it.

Parker loved the zoo. He just loves looking at all the animals (especially the fish and manatees). You have to wonder what is going through that little mind of his. I told him that he will never remember this day without the help of pictures, but that I will always remember the first day I got to go with him to the zoo. Hopefully we can make it out at least a couple more times this summer.

After we got home, I went to the auto parts store to pick up a spark plug socket so I could change my spark plugs. It was an easy job, and I was finished in about a half hour. Not too shabby. After playing with Parker for a bit, I mowed and trimmed the yard for the first time. It was getting too long, but the rain had held me back from getting out there. While I was mowing, I saw Rachel jumping up and down with her arms out in the sunroom. I went in to check what was going on, and there was Parker, walking from the table to the door. A full 10 steps in all. I was so incredibly proud of him. Our little walker.

Over the past few days, I had noticed a squealing issue with my car, so I decided to take it in this morning to the mechanic and get it checked out. My suspicions were confirmed that it was a busted belt tensioner. I had them go ahead and replace that and while they were in there, replace my brake pads and rotors, since they’d never been replaced in the car before. The mechanic was top-notch, honest…the perfect mechanic really. He even said my spark plug wires could use being changed, but that he didn’t want to charge me $120 for a job I could do myself for $30.

This week will continue to get busy. Tomorrow is Baby Day at work, whereby everyone who has had a child in the past year will bring them in for our co-workers to see. Then Thursday is my physical. I decided part of living a healthy life started with getting regular medical exams, and so I’m going in for my 25-year physical then, then I’m good to go until I’m 30.

In any case, it’s been a busy time for me. But at least at the end of the day, I get to type this while sitting on my patio.

Leave a Reply

