I am thankful

While Wednesdays are typically a ‘Wordless Wednesday’, this Wednesday deserves to be put into words.

I am thankful.

Two years ago, I came home from work to find my wife holding two positive pregnancy tests. I can’t remember what I was wearing that particular day, but I can remember what she was wearing. I can remember how the room was set up, the lighting, everything. Fast-forward to two years later, and I’m the father of a wonderful 15 month-old son. For that I am most thankful. To get to be with that little person every day. I’m thankful for my wife for giving him to me.

This past year has been a year of good thanks. We went from a two-bedroom apartment to a beautiful house in a wonderful city. My wife found her first job since graduating college, and has since gone full-time. I’m on the cusp of perhaps some exciting changes at my own job. We added another canine member to our family. Our needs are met and our wants can be realized.

My mom and dad are wonderful grandparents. My brother became godfather to my son. I became Catholic.

To think about how much our lives changed from Thanksgiving 2008 to 2009; it doesn’t seem like it could be topped. But this past year has given us a lot of change and a lot to be thankful for.

It hasn’t been a year without sadness or loss, though. I lost my grandmother in June, and this Thanksgiving and holiday season will be awfully difficult without her. But through everything, I know she loved us so much and I’m so glad Parker got to meet her, because I know he brought so much joy to her.

‘Thanks’ is often a word that just gets thrown around. Said in passing. Thanksgiving is that time when we can reflect on being thankful. In appreciating the things we have been given, and giving back thanks to our loved ones.

But just suffice it to say that I am truly, very thankful this Thanksgiving. I wish my very best to you and yours this holiday season, and thank you.

One response to “I am thankful

  1. Pingback: Happy New Year! | From None to One: A blog about a Generation Y dad

Leave a Reply

